History of IET Glasgow: Teacher Building
Our venue has been a Glasgow landmark since 1875 and continues to boast original features from its famous history. Since its thoughtful transformation into a contemporary conference and events venue in 1995, IET Glasgow: Teacher Building has hosted an array of events, providing no less than 15 meeting rooms across four floors.
Built in the early 1870’s, the venue was commission by whisky magnate William Teacher and for 100 years the building was home to the world-famous Teacher’s Whisky. The ground and first floors, filled with the aromas of the whisky, were used for vats, casks and bottling activities.
The famous golden sandstone façade of the venue has long been a recognisable Glasgow icon. A Grade II listed building, IET Glasgow: Teacher Building is part of the city’s uniquely rich heritage of Victorian commercial architecture.
On the move
By 1974, Teacher’s Whisky had grown beyond the capacity of the venue and so moved into the adjoining premises. Both buildings remained the world-wide headquarters of the Whisky until 1991, when the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) – then the IEE – took over the location.
In 1995 the venue became the Scottish Engineering Centre, receiving a thoughtful transformation into a corporate meetings and events venuewhere original features and tokens of the building’s history where carefully preserved.